Chocolate Chia Pudding

I’ve gotten a recent obsession with chia seeds and I’ve been adding it to many of the things I eat. I started out with just adding it to my overnight oats, I love the tiny bit of crunch it adds.


A friend of mine gave me her recipe for chia pudding and she said she sometimes adds a scoop of chocolate powder, so of course I had to try that too. It’s seriously tasty and so simply delicious.

Recipe:

1/4 cup chia seeds
1 cup milk*
1/4 cup sugar**
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
1 Tablespoon Cocoa powder (unsweetened)

* I used cow milk, whole, because my son is allergic to peanuts and gets eczema with most other nuts, you could use any nut milk, rice milk, or coconut milk (I’m sure hemp and oat milk would work too)

** I used white sugar, but you can use any form of sweetener (sucanat, molasses, honey, etc)

Mix milk with sugar and vanilla bean paste, add in cocoa powder (which probably won’t mix in well). I heated it briefly in the microwave and then threw the mixture through a strainer. I stirred the chocolate paste that was left behind, until it was smooth, and then added it back into the milk. I then poured this over the chia seeds. Now it needs to sit in the fridge for about 2-3 hours. I do mine the night before I want to have it, so it goes in overnight. My friend does hers in a wide dish, I put mine in a mason jar (mostly because we have a side-by-side fridge and space is limited). Both methods work, but if you used a mason jar you will need to shake it a couple times. I find that the following morning I can shake or stir it and that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

