Le Creuset Yogurt

I have a large stock pot/Dutch oven pot from Le Creuset. It’s purple. I love it. It was a Christmas gift (picked out by me) from Mr. Man Cold almost two years ago. I use it for everything, from pasta sauce, soups, and puddings to more recently using it for yogurt and sourdough bread. I’ve just ordered a proofing basket, for making sourdough bread (because a towel, secured with a rubber band, in a plastic mixing bowl wasn’t cutting it after three attempts), and I can’t wait to try it. I’ll do a separate post on my sourdough bread, because it’s so much fun!

Anyway… Back to my purple pot… Last week I ran out of time to start my yogurt in the crockpot, so I got the (very) bright idea to make the yogurt in my Le Creuset. 

I brought the milk (1 gallon organic whole) to 180+ degrees (my thermometer clips on to edge of pot, so I occasionally checked it). Then I moved the pot to the back of the stove and let it cool off to the 110 degrees (while this was cooling I turned on the oven to let it preheat to the lowest possible temp, 170, and then promptly turned it off). Take out 1 cup and add 2 tablespoons of yogurt (from last batch), then add this mixture back into the pot and swish gently with a whisk until mixed. Put top back on, place on top of thick towels and place in oven (with light on) for 10-14 hours. 

The yogurt was significantly thicker than when I did it in the crockpot. I believe this is because the Le Creuset is cast iron and retains the heat longer, which is ultimately the goal when wrapping it in towels and placing it in the oven. I will definitely be doing I like this going forward, because it was soooo delicious. 

2 Quarts of the gallon of yogurt
Leave a Reply

