Marinara, simple and tasty

I’m a huge fan of anything homemade and even more so when it’s simple and tasty to boot. Yet another great find on Pinterest, but I modified it to my own liking. 

I don’t think I need to go into a long drawn out post on this one, though I’d certainly love to make this entire recipe from all fresh ingredients (and make my own diced tomatoes from my “potted plant garden”), but right now I have to use canned diced tomatoes. 

I buy diced tomatoes on sale (less than $1 per can, for the 28oz cans). A jar of decent marinara sauce costs upwards of $7 and with how little it costs to make it from scratch, I can’t justify spending that much. This recipe makes roughly 2-3 jars of sauce, so it’s a pretty good budget saver. I freeze the leftover sauce in mason jars and put them in the fridge (24 hours before I need them) to defrost for use. I’m no a huge fan of canned tomatoes, but hopefully my potted tomato plants will do well this summ and I won’t have to buy canned for much longer. 

So here’s the process for making the sauce. Heat a pot, or sauce pan, at medium-medium-high and add olive oil (I use California Olive Ranch everyday extra virgin olive oil, first cold press). 


Add diced onions and cook, until almost glassy, and then add minced garlic. Cook until everything is soft and aromatic. Mix in the spices, and stir to combine, before adding in the remaining ingredients. Add in tomatoes, tomato paste, wine (I use Chardonnay from the Gallo family, nothing fancy and I buy the tiny bottles, because I am not a huge alcohol drinker and we’d just end up tossing it all), olives, salt, and pepper. 


Bring to a boil and then reduce temperature to low and cook for 30 minutes. Check every so often and stir as needed. After the 30 minutes I stick blend the entire thing until it’s pretty fine. 

At this point I add my baked meatballs to the sauce and cook for another 20 minutes. 

Recipe
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup diced onions
4-5 cloves minced garlic
1 Tablespoon Basil
1 Teaspoon Oregano
1 6-ounce can tomato paste
1 28-ounce can diced/stewed tomatoes
1 8 ounce jar Kalamata olives, drained (reserving 1 tablespoon brine to add to sauce)
3/4 cups white wine (Chardonnay)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

1. Heat sauce pan and add olive oil
2. Add in diced onions and cook until almost glassy/softened.
3. Add in garlic and cook until aromatic (roughly 1-2 minutes, don’t allow garlic to burn)
4. Add in spices and stir to coat onions/garlic
5. Add in remaining ingredients, stir, and bring to boil
6. Cook on low for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally 
7. Stick blend to your desired smoothness. 

Note: I add my oven baked meatballs at this point and cook for additional 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

