Burnt Yogurt

As I’ve posted, before, I’ve started making yogurt from scratch. I’ve been using my crockpot to do it, but I should’ve done a better job monitoring it when I made it this past Tuesday. It was my mother’s birthday, so I dumped the gallon of milk and set it for 8 hours on low (at least I thought I did that). What I didn’t take into account is the warming feature when the settings are done running. So of course some of the milk, in the bottom, toasted a bit (almost burnt). Instead of tossing the milk, though, I decided to make the yogurt anyway. Know what happened? The yogurt turned out cream/beige colored and has a bit of a caramel taste to it. It actually turned out very yummy. Even the strained Greek yogurt I made, from this batch, turned out really delicious. I’m glad I didn’t toss the burned milk (waste of $5.69) and I still have enough starter left over to make a normal batch (though I’ll have to make a 1/2 gallon batch, because I don’t have enough space/mason jars to store it all (let alone fridge space).

Here’s the Toasted Milk

It already looked like caramel. Made me laugh a little, because heck it’s obviously burnt.

I added the starter and put the whole thing (wrapped in a towel) in my unheated oven with the light on.

The next day….

Burnt yogurt, with a white spoon to show that it’s not white
 
And then I started straining batches… And I almost choked I laughed so hard. Because it’s really not white yogurt, like it should’ve been.

White straining cloth shows just how yellow/beige the burnt yogurt turned out

But…. Here’s the thing. I like it, it’s unique and creamy and rich, on top of already being that from the original batch. So I’m calling it burned yogurt. Here are the steps I took with the first batch, just let the crockpot cook it longer than the 180 degrees (I’m going to assume the whole 8 hours and then let cool from there, no need to keep warm, but I’ll test this out again next time). 

All the steps are still the same (let cool back down to 110 degrees before adding starter and swirl up and down/back and forth with a whisk, do not stir in circles). Set in unheated oven, wrapped in towels, with light on, for 10 hours. Then next morning I put it in the fridge to cool for 4-5 hours and then put in mason jars.

And here’s a comparison to the original batch of truly white yogurt.
 

Burnt yogurt on the left, regular yogurt on the right (a noticeable shade difference)
 

Leave a Reply

