Making tortillas

Growing up we lived all over and my mother was always big on trying local recipes. When we moved to California, of course she had to find a good tortilla recipe. I’m not a huge fan of the store bought tortillas, as a result, and decided I was going to make those for dinner tonight. Not only are they simple to make and taste better than anything you can buy in the store, but it’s much cheaper too.

Tortillas all have the same base ingredients: flour, salt, oil/fat/shortening, baking powder, and water (as hot as your hands can handle). 

The ingredients I used this time:

2 cups flour
1/3 cup shortening (diced)
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
2/3-3/4 cups hot water

Place flour, salt, and baking powder in a large bowl, add shortening and mix (I used my pastry blender) until crumbly and it looks kind of like wet sand. Add in hot water, I didn’t add all, but ended up using almost all of it. Mix this by hand until you can form a ball of dough. Let dough sit for 20 minutes. After the dough has rested make 12 equal sized balls of dough and roll these out into your tortilla. It’s best to roll them out one at a time (meaning roll one out, throw on skillet, and while that one cooks start rolling another one). Heat up a large skillet to medium-high (I set my mine to 7.5 on a scale of 1-10) and place a rolled out tortilla (8-9 inches in diameter) onto it. Cool for 30-45 seconds and then flip and cook for another 15-20 seconds. It’s best to do this with a helper, but is doable alone. I place a dish towel on a plate and then cover each tortilla as I work through them, but if you’re making these in advance it’s ok to just put them on an uncovered plate.

I’ll post pictures shortly, as I was so focused on making them that I forgot to get some shots.

  

Leave a Reply

